Book Reviews

Hidden 12

Oh my word, it’s been awhile. I’m sorry for the long, unexpected absence. If any of you follow my blog, then you know we just made the gigantic move from my husband’s home China back to my home in America. Since we arrived life has been HECTIC!

Not only did we have a mountainous amount of things to accomplish, but I also hit a really bad reading slump and no matter what I picked up it just wasn’t jiving with me. Then once I got my groove back, I started working a part-time kind of job at night (very part time), and it has gobbled up my normal reading hours.

I did however manage to finish a few books. One of which I will be reviewing today! So without further ado, ON we go!

71pbszyttfl4 stars/5

G.E.M.S. Genetically Enhanced Medical Soldiers These soldiers are birthed from highly intelligent women, who are paid greatly and have agreed to return the children at age 5 to a classified government program. The normal human intelligence Cell is from a 7 to a 9. Those with Cell-10 are gifted with extreme intelligence. Few ever attempt to rise above the normal, but not to fear- Medical science and a highly classified government program is exploring that option. Ben Callensworth and Kristyn Silktin are the only two soldiers that have been secretly created by the government, each with Cell-11 intelligence. They possess a secret love that is against all rules and have done the unthinkable. Procreation between the created Cells is forbidden. Kristyn becomes pregnant and must go on the run to hide their child, a daughter named Haven. As Haven grows, it becomes obvious that she is gifted with unmatched intelligence and even greater gifts yet to be explored, gifts that could even surpass a Cell-11. She must be kept hidden from government and terrorist groups for her own safety. Haven is forced to grow up in boarding schools, traveling from country to country, not knowing who she is or who her real parents are. But an unexpected tragedy happens, and a whole new world is opened up to her as she discovers who she is and the hidden gifts she possesses. Haven, using her gifts, secretly attaches herself to a dangerous mission to save lives held captive at the hand of a deadly terrorist.

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review.

I really think this story-line is kind of ingenious. This book is so versatile. Who doesn’t love a government involved conspiracy? Got it! Do you enjoy action packed novels? Covered! It also has a splash of romance, and a lot of family drama. It kind of hits a lot of audiences interests, and combines them in a pretty fabulous fashion.

I felt like the story was really unique and unfolded very well. It was also a fast paced story with not much time to fall back and get bored. It kept moving which really kept me into the story. I was able to finish this book pretty quickly, which is usually a sign that I enjoyed it.

I do have a couple of small issues, of course. If you read my blog, you will know that even my 5 star rated books usually have one small critique or two.

Characters! Again, if you have ever read my blog, I’m like a broken record. I always say, CHARACTERS make the story for me. I want to feel like I know them. I want to become attached to them. I want to feel sad when I read the last word on the last page, and we have to part ways and say our goodbyes. I want to have the urge to revisit you in the future. That’s what makes a 5 star “You made it to my special shelf” kind of book.

So you can probably guess what I am going to say. I had issues with the characters. It’s true! It’s not that I didn’t like them, in fact the opposite. I liked them very much! I just wish I could have connected more with them. I wanted to feel more for them, and know more about them. I needed that personal touch that made a character jump out of the pages of the book and into my imagination and come alive.

That being said however, this book is the first in a series of (currently) two. I’m told there will be a third. I also have my hands on the second novel in the series. I am hoping this is one of those series where you grow with the characters. Where as the story continues to develop and events unfold, you become more attached and less willing to say goodbye at the close of the book. I honestly have high hopes that will happen, and that is why I have rated this a 4 star book.

I’m thinking maybe, just maybe, the author left us just enough to want to go back for more. Because that’s the feeling I have right now. I’m excited to dive into book two (when I have the chance), and find out more about Haven and her family.

All in all, who would I recommend this book to? If you like action, government conspiracy, or secret sects of society who have special powers and can totally kick ass. Give this book a go! It’s a great read, and the series has a lot of potential to grow and become something spectacular.

Notes:

***If you want to purchase any of these books simply click on the book cover photos above. All links will direct you to The Book Depository or Amazon.***

The Book Depository offers free worldwide shipping.

Paperback Swap:

Have you heard of PaperBackSwap? It’s this amazing website where you can post your physical books that you no longer want, and other people can take them off your hands! In exchange for sending off your old books, you receive credits and are able to snag books for FREE! IF you join, could you do me a solid and type in my e-mail ( a.confessed.bibliophile@outlook.com ) in the referral spot? That would be FABULOUS!

Bonus Author Goodies:

Gail Parker on Facebook

Want to discuss more books?

Come find your tribe of like minded book hoarders at Bibliophiles Anonymous (Book Club) on Facebook.

Like my page A Confessed Bibliophile on Facebook for more book fun.

Follow me on GoodReads to see what I’m reading or my future TBR lists.

Discount Online Books:

The Book Outlet

Thrift Books

 

Leave a Reply

