Book Reviews

Justice for Jessica – A Review

51adnt35ynlJustice for Jessica by Alretha Thomas
3stars

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Mousey, overweight Stacey Sullivan would love to trade places with her glamorous socialite BFF, Jessica James—that’s until she discovers Jessica murdered in her own home. Whip-smart detective Rachel Storme is ready to exchange her gun and badge for a gardener’s hat and hoe. But she reluctantly puts her plans on hold when she’s asked to help solve Jessica’s murder. These two strangers from different generations—Stacey a millennial and Rachel a baby boomer—become unlikely friends in their pursuit of JUSTICE FOR JESSICA. But their friendship is put to the test when Stacey insists that her husband, Matt, is innocent in spite of evidence that speaks to the contrary. Rachel, baffled by Stacey’s blind loyalty to Matt, doggedly fights to take Matt down, but with Stacey’s help, he eludes her at every turn. Is Matt the killer or could Grant, Jessica’s husband, be the culprit? Perhaps it was her jealous sister, Georgette or the maid, Rosa? No matter who the killer is, Rachel, by any means necessary, is determined to find her man or woman.

I don’t know about other readers, but I have categories that I fit books into. For example “A book I could read 100 times and never get tired of” or “A book I wouldn’t use the pages to wipe my ass with” haha. Well, this book would fit perfectly into my “A book to end a reading slump” category.  Which, in a nutshell means that it was a fast easy read. It isn’t a book I would necessarily read more than once, but it read quite well.

“The Book of the Unnamed Midwife” fell into my “A book I could read 100 times and never get tired of” category. Check that out here.

“The Undying” fell into my “A book I wouldn’t use the pages to wipe my ass with” category. To check out my review of that for a good laugh, click here

It was your typical “who dunnit” murder mystery where you wonder who the culprit is right up until the very end. It was mildly predictable, and not all that shocking. However, it was pretty fast paced and kept me interested enough to speed through it in three sittings. I’m a mom, but if I had long periods of uninterrupted free time I think I could have finished it all in one sitting. A quick and easy read, that doesn’t involve a whole lot of deep thought.

I’m a reader that is more concerned about the characters than the story line and for me, with this book, I just felt like I was slightly on the outside of being acquainted with Detective Storme and Stacey. I really did enjoy the main two characters in this book, however I felt they were a little underdeveloped. I would have liked to of known more about them. I didn’t feel as connected to them as I generally prefer to be when reading a book.

So, who would I recommend this book to? Anyone who is stuck in a reading slump and just needs a quick, mindless read to break the bookieman’s spell and get the reading juices flowing again. It’s definitely fast paced enough to keep you from getting bored, and the twists and surprises are just enough to hold your interest. I probably wouldn’t buy this book with my own money, if I’m being completely honest, but I would check it out from my local library if they carried it for a quick read. I do NOT suggest any book snobs read this book! It is definitely not a book that will blow your mind, change your life, and leave you contemplating your place on Earth. So if you are the type who dissects every novel, and refuses to read anything unless it’s some profound, deep, life changing piece of literature then this is NOT the book for you!


Completely unrelated tidbit of personal information:

We are finally settling in, and getting into a more relaxed routine. I have decided to skip my pre-planned “To Be Read” list for September, and knock out a lot of the ARC’s I have received lately. So expect a lot of reviews! I have heard really great things about a few of the ARC’s I have lined up, so I hope they live up to their reputation!!!

Also, I was thinking about doing a giveaway at the end of the month of the paperback ARCs I will have read by then. Is anyone interested in a giveaway like that? Comment down below and let me know!!

Thanks for stopping by!


Notes:

***If you want to purchase any of these books simply click on the book cover photos above. All links will direct you to The Book Depository or Amazon.***

The Book Depository offers free worldwide shipping.

Bonus Author Goodies:

Alretha Thomas on Goodreads

Alretha Thomas on Facebook

Alretha Thomas’ Webpage

Want to discuss more books?

Come find your tribe of like minded book hoarders at Bibliophiles Anonymous (Book Club) on Facebook.

Like my page A Confessed Bibliophile on Facebook for more book fun.

Follow me on GoodReads to see what I’m reading or my future TBR lists.

Discount Online Books:

The Book Outlet

Thrift Books

 

2 thoughts on “Justice for Jessica – A Review

    1. Thank you!

      The “wipe my ass with the pages of the book” was satire of course. Sometimes that doesn’t translate at all 😜

      But I do categorize my books a lot.

      It was a good, quick read and pretty enjoyable!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

