Book Reviews

The Book of the Unnamed Midwife – A Review

51yvqLjvrEL
5 stars

When she fell asleep, the world was doomed. When she awoke, it was dead.

In the wake of a fever that decimated the earth’s population—killing women and children and making childbirth deadly for the mother and infant—the midwife must pick her way through the bones of the world she once knew to find her place in this dangerous new one. Gone are the pillars of civilization. All that remains is power—and the strong who possess it.

A few women like her survived, though they are scarce. Even fewer are safe from the clans of men, who, driven by fear, seek to control those remaining. To preserve her freedom, she dons men’s clothing, goes by false names, and avoids as many people as possible. But as the world continues to grapple with its terrible circumstances, she’ll discover a role greater than chasing a pale imitation of independence.

After all, if humanity is to be reborn, someone must be its guide.

I received this book from Net Galley for free in exchange for an honest review. If you haven’t heard of Net Galley, it’s an amazing website and you should check them out!

I just recently started doing book reviews, and the first book I ever read for review was The Undying, and if you read my review then you know that I did not like the book at all.

If you haven’t read my review of The Undying,you can check it out here.

So I was really nervous going into “The Book of the Unnamed Midwife” and honestly didn’t have very high expectations.  I was SO incredibly surprised by this book. I ADORED it. Absolutely LOVED it. It is not only my favorite read this year, but has earned a spot on my list of favorite books of ALL TIME.

The story line, even though it’s an apocalyptic novel, was so completely unique and original. It was unlike any other apocalyptic novel I have read thus far. I mean seriously, KUDOS to you Meg Elison for managing to come up with a completely new concept to an already beloved genre of writing.

The author is also a bad ass when it comes to developing her characters. It’s one of those novels where I feel like the characters are everything. I felt like I really came to know each and every character. I adored them, I felt compassion for them, my heart bled for them, and I felt angry for them. Of course, the character that I adored most was the main character, whom by the end I was sad to say goodbye to. FYI, there’s a reason I keep saying “the main character” instead of her name, but you will have to read the book to find out why. Though you may be able to guess why by the title of the book. Anyway, she was, in a nutshell, a feminist, progressive thinking, all around bad-ass in a subtle sort of way. She wasn’t cocky or in your face BAD-ASS. She was SO bad-ass she didn’t feel the need to flaunt it! I loved her!

I have only one, tiny complaint with the book. Parts of the novel are written in journal form. Journals from all of the characters, but mostly the journal of the main character. I did not like the writing style of her journal entries, and in the beginning felt like they were kind of hard to follow. I ALMOST closed this book because of those journal entries. I am so glad I didn’t because as time went on her journal entries either became clearer, or I just became used to reading that style of writing. Either way, this small problem wasn’t enough to knock off even a HALF a star of the 5 star rating I’ve given it. It’s so minuscule that it’s really irrelevant but I always try to include one small piece of constructive criticism in my reviews.

So, who would I recommend this novel to? Anyone who loves apocalyptic novels. Especially if you are tired of reading apocalyptic stories with the same story over and over, just with minor tweaks and changes or different characters. Because THIS novel is completely different from any you have read so far. It’s going to be the novel that sets a new standard for future apocalyptic novels, and I truly feel like we will see more stories like this one and know immediately that they were inspired by this one. Also, if you love bad-ass female characters, this book is for you. Meg hasn’t only created a new species of apocalyptic novels, but shes also managed to create a new breed of strong woman leads.

Seriously, this book is available for pre-order on Amazon now. Go, my reading friends, and BUY THIS BOOK!
Notes:

***If you want to purchase any of these books simply click on the book cover photos above. All links will direct you to The Book Depository or Amazon.***

The Book Depository offers free worldwide shipping.

Bonus Author Goodies:

Meg Elison on Facebook

Meg Elison’s Website

Want to discuss more books?

Come find your tribe of like minded book hoarders at Bibliophiles Anonymous (Book Club) on Facebook.

Like my page A Confessed Bibliophile on Facebook for more book fun.

Follow me on GoodReads to see what I’m reading or my future TBR lists.

Discount Online Books:

The Book Outlet

Thrift Books

 

3 thoughts on “The Book of the Unnamed Midwife – A Review

Leave a Reply

