Book Reviews

Cinder by Marissa Meyer *A Review*

img_5701Cinder by Marissa Meyer


Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Description courtesy of The Book Depository.

I promised I would review “Cinder” in my recent July 2016 Wrap-Up post. So as promised! Here we go!

You can find my July 2016 Wrap-Up post by clicking here. It was a SUPER productive reading month for me! I read a whopping 11 books!

Be STILL my BEATING heart! Where have re-telling novels been my whole life? I actually have only heard of one other re-telling series, and it was a hardcore BDSM erotica series written by Anne Rice except using a pseudonym. I never did finish that series, though. I should revisit it sometime.

Anyway, I digress. THIS book was amazing!!! Oh it was just such a great story. I loved the characters, the setting, the plot, the twists, and just everything about it.

Marissa Meyer’s writing style has such an amazing flow that there’s never a good time to put the novel down. You simply want to keep reading and never stop. I started reading this book one evening, and finished it the next. I probably could have finished reading it in just hours if #lyfe didn’t get in the way. You know how life does that sometimes. If I could have bribed my husband to rid the house of all its inhabitants for just one day, it would have been the day I picked up this novel.

I absolutely adore the setting of this novel as well. It’s set in Beijing, only a future version of Beijing referred to as “New Beijing”. I love the way she describes the city itself, the buildings and architecture sound so wonky and whimsical almost. I loved her descriptions of the characters, and her ability to really draw you in and allow you to form a bond with the characters. I really, really applaud this author on her writing abilities.

Usually, the first few pages of a book for me are always read with skeptical eyes. I am always asking myself “Okay, am I going to like this?” “Is this going to live up to the hype?”. For this book, however, I wasn’t but maybe 5-10 pages in before I realized I was already engrossed in the story. I mean, hello, it’s only just begun but my imagination was already in overdrive producing the imagery her words were forming for me. Absolutely amazing.

I am just beginning to read the second book in the series “Scarlet”. I can’t wait to get into it more. It’s another one of those moments I wish I could bewitch my husband to rid the house of all its inhabitants so I can read in peace and be left with no companions other than those provided by my book.

So, who do I recommend this book to? ABSOLUTELY anyone. I honestly feel like this book could be enjoyed by just about anyone who loves to read. Yes, it’s a re-telling of a fairy tale which may make you think its geared towards more of a female audience, but the sci-fi twist to the story makes it acceptable for anyone who loves sci-fi. This book has cyborgs, celestial beings, action, and just awesomeness all around. Seriously, READ-THIS-BOOK!

Notes:

***If you want to purchase any of these books simply click on the book cover photos above. All links will direct you to The Book Depository or Amazon.***

The Book Depository offers free worldwide shipping.

Bonus Author Goodies:

Marissa Meyer on Facebook.

Marissa Meyer’s website

Marissa Meyer on Pintrest

Marissa Meyer on Goodreads

Want to discuss more books?

Come find your tribe of like minded book hoarders at Bibliophiles Anonymous (Book Club) on Facebook.

Like my page A Confessed Bibliophile on Facebook for more book fun.

Follow me on GoodReads to see what I’m reading or my future TBR lists.

Discount Online Books:

The Book Outlet

Thrift Books

 

3 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer *A Review*

Leave a Reply

