Book Reviews

“The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins *Review* 

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Wow what a story! There has been so much hype surrounding this book, and now I understand why.

I have to applaud the author on her style of writing in this book. She managed to write a multiple points of view story without making it confusing and hard to follow. Instead it pulled me in even more, and it was so interesting to see how each character viewed each circumstance differently.

I also loved Rachel and Megan’s characters. (I will get to Anna in a moment.) Rachel and Megan were so real to me. I love when a storie’s characters are so obviously flawed. They don’t try to hide their down comings or mask them behind innocence or oblivion. When a character is just out of the closet “Yep, I’m a nutter. Take me or leave me.” They are the characters I fall in love with most easily.

It was impossible to put this book down, and I finished it in a matter of days. It was extremely exciting and just when you expected a lull in the story, something would happen to pull you back in.

I don’t have many criticisms of this book. I did find Anna to be a little lacking. I kind of wished she matched Rachel and Megan and had a larger more obvious flaw. Or maybe I wish she flaunted her flaw a little more like the other girls.

Other than that, my only small complaint was it was mildly predictable towards the end. Up until around 3/4 of the way through, everyone was a suspect in the story. But I will say around that time I had pretty much figured out who the culprit was. It didn’t ruin it for me though, because the ending and the circumstance of the character’s own discovery of the culprit made it worthwhile.

Also, I can totally see why this book is being made into a movie. It’s going to be amazing if they follow the storyline.

Overall I reccomend this book to anyone who loves suspense and some mystery. You will remain on the edge of your seat the entire way through. So grab some popcorn and some wine, and curl up with “The Girl on the Train” . You will not regret it.

About the Author 

Paula Hawkins worked as a journalist for fifteen years before turning her hand to fiction. She lives in London. The Girl on the Train is her first thriller. It is being published all over the world and has been optioned by Dreamworks.

Extra Goodies

Paula Hawkins Webpage

Paula Hawkins on Facebook 

Buy “The Girl on the Train” At

The Book Depository (free worldwide shipping!)

Amazon

Want to discuss more books?

Come find your tribe of like minded book hoarders at Bibliophiles Anonymous (Book Club) on Facebook.

Like my page A Confessed Bibliophile on Facebook for more book fun.

Follow me on GoodReads to see what I’m reading or my future TBR lists.

Discount Online Books:

The Book Outlet

Thrift Books

 

5 thoughts on ““The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins *Review* 

Leave a Reply

