Monthly Wrap-up

July 2016 Wrap-Up!

I know… I know… It’s mid-way through August, but this is my first month with the blog! I honestly can’t wait another 3 weeks to post my first wrap-up. So, why torture myself? We will just begin with a very late July Wrap-Up.

July was a BINGE READ hallelujah kind of month. I don’t know what came over me, but the reading Gods blessed me with the power to read and read is what I did!

I won’t be including detailed reviews here, this is just to show what I read, share descriptions, and a short couple of thoughts for each book.

So let’s get started. These books are in no particular order this month, but in the future I will try to include them in the order they were read.

***Click on the book cover to purchase these books at The Book Depository or Amazon*** (Charlaine Harris links in book title list)

“A Pale Demon” by Kim Harrison – #09 in “The Hollows” series. 

Some day soon I will have to make a complete fan girl, obsessed, “bow down to Kim” post about “The Hollows” series. These books are amazing. (Shout out to Loria for recommending them to me years ago. Still a fav.)

The books follow a witch named Rachel Morgan. The setting is Cincinnati sometime after “The Turn”. The Turn was a pivotal point in history when the supernatural came out of hiding after a bio weapon was mistakingly implanted into tomatoes. Which went on to kill off a quarter of the human population.

Anyway, Rachel is a “runner” which is basically a policewoman for the supernatural species of the book (called Inderlanders). She quits her job and pairs up with a vamp and a pixy to start a private firm.

Basically in every book they kick ass all across the realm of beings. From human, to demon, to vamp, even weres and faeries get a taste of their bad-assery.

She rocks. The books rock. Kim Harrison is a book writing genius. The end.

P.S. I promise not to ramble on so much for each book. “The Hollows” is just #lyfe to me.



“Night Pleasures” by Sherrilyn Kenyon – #1 in the “Dark Hunters” series. 

A straight up sexy paranormal romance. If you want a book to just lose yourself in while enjoying a hot (hot-hot) bath and a glass of wine. This is the book you want to read. Or any book in the series from what I’m told.

P.S. See I told you I wouldn’t ramble.



“The Siren” by Tiffany Reisz.

Three words. Hot. BDSM. Mega-hot. That counts right?

Honestly. Out of straight up erotic fiction, this is one of the better written books I’ve read. It’s a story with a lot of hot sex. Not a lot of hot sex with a crappy story thrown in.

Highly recommended if you like well written erotica.


***Click on the book names below to be directed to Book Depository for purchase***

“Dead Until Dark” by Charlaine Harris

“Living Dead in Dallas” by Charlaine Harris 

“Club Dead” by Charlaine Harris 

“Dead as a Doornail” by Charlaine Harris

“Definitely Dead” by Charlaine Harris

“Dead to the World” by Charlaine Harris

That’s right… I went that far. I read 6 of them bad boys and have read another since July finished. They are pretty short, easy reads though, to be fair. I’ve actually been dying to read more of them but I felt like I was denying myself so many other characters… and WORLDS… and FANTASIES… I had to take a break.

What I realized is that I really didn’t need that break and I find myself craving me some SOOKIE (said in my best Vampire Bill voice from the TV show).

Honestly I don’t feel like I need to introduce these books. If you don’t know what they are then you must have been living under a rock for the past several years.

So. Addicting.

Recommend for everyone. Well maybe everyone over the age of 18.


“New Zed Order: Survive” by Todd Sprague

This book follows a husband and a wife as they flee their home for the husband’s hometown. It follows their attempts to survive the zombie apocalypse and build a sustainable society for survivors.

I will do an in depth review of this book later. I have WORDS for this book. Some serious words.

I wanted to try a zombie apocalypse novel. This was my first. I know it’s insane considering we have such a huge zombie culture going right now. #betterlatethannever

I honestly don’t want to say much about this novel. I really want to save it for the review.


“Twilight of the Dead” by Travis Adkins

I also really want to save my major thoughts and FEELS for a review of this book. I totally have WORDS for this book as well.

And as you may have gathered, this is the second zombie apocalypse novel I read.

Actually this novel takes place post apocalypse and follows a girl who is a badass zombie killing machine but she’s also emotionally vacant and shut down. They live in a society that they have miraculously managed to make completely self-sustainable. Meaning they never have to leave the safety of their walls. Until a scientist rolls into town talking about a cure and well… Of course it’s outside the safety of those walls. So off they go….


That’s it for July. August so far has been a pretty productive month as well. One book I have read and plan on reviewing is… Drum roll please.. Dun dun dun dun


“Cinder” by Marissa Meyer

If you are interested in hearing more about any of the books I mentioned today or want a full review, leave me a comment so I can do that for you!

Also, if you have any recommendations for good zombie novels, leave them in the comments below.

Notes: 

***If you want to purchase any of these books simply click on the book cover photos above. All links will direct you to The Book Depository or Amazon.***

The Book Depository offers free worldwide shipping.

Bonus Author Goodies:

Kim Harrison on Facebook 

Kim Harrison’s website 

Sherrilyn Kenyon on Facebook 

Sherrilyn Kenyon’s website 

Tiffany Reisz on Facebook 

Tiffany Reisz’s website 

Charlaine Harris on Facebook 

Charlaine Harris’ website 

Marissa Meyer on Facebook 

Marissa Meyer’s website 

Want to discuss more books? 

Come find your tribe of like minded book hoarders at Bibliophiles Anonymous (Book Club) on Facebook.

Like my page A Confessed Bibliophile on Facebook for more book fun.

Follow me on GoodReads to see what I’m reading or my future TBR lists.

Discount Online Books: 

The Book Outlet 

Thrift Books

One thought on “July 2016 Wrap-Up!

Leave a Reply

